Enchilada Soup

The last few weeks I’ve been throwing things in the crock pot and hoping for the best. Tonight it was a mish-mash of chicken and mexican stuff. 2 Chicken Breasts, canned olives w/jalapeno, can of rotel tomatoes (hot), can of roasted green chilies whole, and a can of enchilada sauce. Usually I use frozen chicken but I thawed it last night and never cooked it so I had to cook it today, the chicken was done after 4 hours on high, I imagine if it were frozen it would have been at least 2 more hours. I topped it with some strips of pepper jack cheese.

It turned out spicier than I thought it would, but still very good. There is enough for at least 4 people.
I shared mine with some stouffer mac and cheese, (made in the oven, as it should be) and dinner was fantastic!
How I did it:

2 chicken breasts
1 can enchilada sauce
1 small can of olives with jalapeno
1 small can of whole green chilies
1 can of rotel tomatoes Hot
all contents into crock pot on high for 4 hours, after 4 hours I spooned out the chicken and shredded it in a bowl, I also took out the green peppers and cut them down, this would have been easier had I done it prior to cooking. Then I added peppers and chicken back and stirred it up. I served in a bowl with some pepper jack cheese on top.
This would have been very good with a crunchy bread, or even rice.

Leave a comment