Green Chicken Soup

It’s not so much green chicken, as it is chicken soup with green stuff, but I like the name, Green Chicken Soup.
I made this a few weeks ago, when I just needed some warm comfort food. It was freaking great.

(all ingredients can be altered to your liking, I love cabbage in my soup, you however may not)
2 chicken thighs
4 cups of chopped cabbage
1 leek
1 handfull of chopped cilantro
1/2 cup onion
4 stalks of celery
1 bag of pre cooked soba noodles
seasonings, i used: sea salt, mortons seasoning, black pepper, and ground rosemary & thyme witch i ground myself together with the sea salt in my mortar. i used about a teaspoon of each except salt, about 2 teaspoons of salt.
boil chicken until cooked in about 8 cups of water and seasonings
(here i would suggest de-boning chicken, i did not and eating was a pain in the ass)
add add all greens except cabbage boil for about 10 min, add cabbage, boil for 10 more min (this allows other veggies to flavor broth and cabbage wont be to soft)
put cold soba noodles in a bowl and spoon soup over top, this allows the noodles to warm and at the same time cool soup to an eatable temperature.
eat immediately, with chopsticks. reserve & refrigerate remains (keep unused noodles seperate from soup, upon re-heating you will follow same procedure of adding hot soup to cold noodles.)

Leave a comment